Colorado Policy Information

Plastic Pollution Reduction Act 
(HB21-1162) creates a fee on single-use checkout bags, bans single-use plastic bags and styrofoam food containers, and lifts the local preemption on plastic bans allowing local jurisdictions to pass ordinances reducing single-use plastics. Find information about how to prepare for implementation of the law, best practices from Colorado municipalities that already have bag fees, and download free toolkits—complete with sample letters, newsletter copy, communications templates, social media posts, etc.— for community and business outreach at

Producer Responsibility for Recycling Packaging and Paper 
(HB22-1355) will provide free, convenient recycling access to all Coloradans with no added cost to consumers or local governments. Recently the Producer Responsibility Organization (PRO), Circular Action Alliance, was chosen to administer the Producer Responsibility program in Colorado. They have appointed HDR Engineering to complete the needs assessment for the Colorado Producer Responsibility program.

Visit to find new resources specifically designed to help local governments understand how the law benefits them and their residents and how to prepare for free recycling. The FAQ Producer Responsibility Page can be found on CDPHE's website. Scroll down to find "Frequently asked questions and answers- Producer Responsibility Program" under the documents list. You can find the initial implementation timeline, advisory board meetings, and additional information on CDPHE's website

Circular Economy Development Center 
(HB22-1159) will provide support and technical assistance to businesses using recycled materials in manufacturing (including organic materials to create beneficial end products like compost). Circular Colorado was awarded the contract with CDPHE to establish a Circular Economy Development Center.

Grants and Rebates

The Recycling Resources Economic Opportunity (RREO) program, established by the Colorado state legislature in 2007, provides funding that promotes economic development through the management of materials that would otherwise be landfilled. Funds are available to support recycling, composting, anaerobic digestion, source reduction, and beneficial use/reuse.

The Front Range Waste Diversion (FRWD) program and enterprise fund was approved by the Colorado state legislature in 2019, and collects funds from an increase in user fees at Front Range landfill to provide grants and technical assistance to Front Range communities to increase recycling, composting, and waste reduction.

2023 Recycle Colorado Policy Updates

SB23-191 – Organic Waste Diversion Study passed the House on party line vote – 46-19. Signed into law May 17th, 2023!

2023 Bill Signing

Policy Documents and Facts Sheets

Recycle Colorado Policy 

2023 Recycle Colorado Legislative Priorities
Recycle Colorado State and Local Policy Framework

Organics Diversion Study Bill

Organics Diversion Bill SB23-191- Introduced March 16th
Fact Sheet on Organics Diversion
Organics Waste Diversion Study Bill - DRAFT

Producer Responsibility

View all Producer Responsibility Documents and Resources
Producer Responsibility Website

Plastic Pollution Reduction Act

View PPRA Resources and Toolkit

Historical Fact Sheets

Develop A Statewide Organics Management Plan
Incentivize Development of Recycling End Markets
Front Range Waste Diversion Act 
Manufacturing Sales and Use Tax Exemption for Recyclers 
Architectural Paint Stewardship Program 
Electronic Devices Banned from Landfills